The saga of my hardfloor costa lotta camper trailer

For those who missed it,my hardfloor camper trailer,looking for the correct adjective,found it well for those that missed my numerous social media posts,my favorite get away camping accessory roasted a wheel bearing while on the way to the coast for Christmas somewhere near two hundred kilometers from the objective.NRMA tilt job to Merriwa a small country town along the way.As luck would have it the small town mechanic had gone on holidays until the 8th of January so their the little house has rested in the NRMA holding yard until today when I undertook the near on eight hundred kilometer journey,bout five hours each way to retrieve the poor beast.As with most blogs this one will serve a purpose,long winded though it may be.
Now the fun begins set of early this morning as one does living in a remote rural part of NSW we don’t figure journeys in kilometers but the hours necessary to get from here to wherever we are going in this case somewhere around a 10 hour return journey,a long day trip I hear most people say well its just the way it is living where I choose to off grid live but I digress,I do that probably more than I should but those that read my blog page either understand that or persevere with my digressions for the humor of the whole thing.So journey starts and three tanks of fuel later I arrive at Merriwa and the location of my now repaired home away from home,so $170 worth of fuel gets me there and I am presented with the receipt that one must pay to gain possession of my goods $303 (at .25 to that and its a decent caliber of a long barrel rifle lol,just saying) damm thing being a full 4WD offroad camper not one mind you but two bearings and the axle shaft and housing needed some attention (read 2 hours labor at $90 an hour)being me I look at the whole situations quietly say to myself,well it could have been worse at least being a country mechanic he retooled the axle and cleaned up the bearing housing,had he not add about $150 for a new bearing housing and somewhere in the realm of another $100 to replace the axle.So the appropriate pieces of plastic paper that we believe to have value as money is exchanged and I gladly back up to my camper hook everything up and proceed to the apron of the BP servo and make that familiar acquaintance again with my old friend the petrol dispensing one armed bandit and as is my habit don’t even watch the digital numbers be they liters or dollars defy not only gravity but if watched closely enough engender thoughts about the manipulation of fuel prices in Australia when my country sits on more oil and gas reserves than Saudi Arabia yet we import and as a concession to that evil thingy the UN we not only are slaves to fractional banking but also import crude and crack it here???Woops I digress again sorry people its been a long day,but then again no longer than doing a return trip to say DubVegas (Dubbo NSW for my overseas readers,probably the closest large regional center from my local,around a four hour each way journey). Returning to the narrative and the return journey which is full of positivity I decided to let that lady whose voice is sometimes so devoid of obvious logic that one reaches out and turns it off,stops gets out of car at a three way crossroad and is happy to toss a coin,until I realise the futility of that as there are three roads to choose from and only apparently in this reality two sides to a coin that lives in the little screen mounted in the dashboard call the return drive I only entered the destination for the Ridge (where I live) with the parameters that the sat nav take me over the Warrambungals (a mountain range here in NSW Australia that climbs about fifteen hundred feet from memory) and low and behold like the stars occasionally tend to align if one stays in a state of akin to the positive I ended up after a few ranges which where mere foot hills to reach the summit passing the Sidings Banks radio and visual telescope array and not only that but some of the most, adjectives here fail me, mountain ranges and vertical valleys that appeared to have no perceivable floor formed by volcanoes many weathered by who knows how many millions of years of erosion and backed beneath the Australian Sun wind and weather.There is a lot to be said some of the places I visit,just because I can through this great continent that I am so lucky to call home.
All in all a costly day never mind my home awqay from home the Little House is ready to take flight again,next journey,need you ask? a week exploring the less traveled path through the Warrambungals.Having said all that stoped and looked at the part that isn’t National Park and some of the places built off grid there that well meshed into the sourroundings,blink and you may miss them with solar wind and water collection one stands out in my mind and the owner had burnt wood carved the name of the property nestled just close enough to the rock range behind it to make it a water collection dream and the name was .. It.Will.Do classic well in my mind it is,would I set up my next place there off grid?No two reasons 1) that whole area borders on dedicated National Parks land (read govt land zoning resumption)2)Funny as it sounds and I saw a run of it coming over the mountain,its bushfire prone anyway you wish to look at it I saw front line jump spot run fire damage and it wasn’t isolated,3)Guess this is ,well no guessing about it,it lacks an accessible river system for water gathering and even as I was driving down the other side the temperate gauge on the beast my 4WD with the little house in tow went to just under a quarter and that was at around 4PM during the return journey,OK don’t mind cold as the appropriate supply of firewood during winter at night can alleviate that issue, (Fire wood warms you,once when you cut it the second time when you burn it)but added to the initial cost of some of those properties am no real estate valuer but none of the ones I saw encompassed more than maybe 15 to 20 acres and would have been apart from maybe three I stopped by the side of the road and where true off grid without spending big bucks.My next off grid will be no less than one hundred acres with rolling hills behind for water management,solar obviously,wing gen ect.Guess even though what I drove through today and the adjectives fail me (thats unusual so I have heard) was more than amazing to me it was and I may be wrong off grid with all the mods but bought at a very high monetary price and I don’t mean the land as I mentioned there where two maybe three off grid properties I saw that actually had people in full time residence all the others where coated in high tech sec systems no cars no people rich peoples getaways like million dollar yachts that sit in their harbor side moorings and are only temptations for the rats.
1036 tired night good people
#ENDS

Leave a comment